Help protect the Channel Country

Covering one-sixth of Australia, Lake Eyre Basin spans four states—Queensland, Northern Territory, New South Wales and South Australia. As one of the world’s largest internal drainage systems, this expansive, dry wilderness is the site of one of the planet’s most spectacular natural phenomena.

Following periodic heavy rainfall, the three river systems comprising Lake Eyre Basin—Cooper’s Creek, Diamantina River and Georgina River—flood across thousands of miles, moving life-giving water from the country’s tropical north to its arid center.

Maintaining the natural river flows of Cooper’s Creek, and the Diamantina and Georgina rivers is essential for ensuring that the Channel Country habitat, and the communities and businesses that rely upon it, is protected for the long-term.